Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: Made for More

madeformore

Made for More: My Story of God’s Grace and Glory by Lauren Elizabeth Miller ~ 134 pages ~ published 9/27/19 by WestBow Press

 

Goodreads Synopsis:

We desire to know our lives matter, and we live in a world that craves more, but what is more? We’re bombarded with messages about what more looks like and how we can successfully live a life of being made for more. Perfection is a constant measure of success, and we manipulate plans so we feel like we are making an impact. In the end, we are empty and exhausted.

Continue reading “Book Review: Made for More”

Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: Six Goodbyes We Never Said (Blog Tour)

sixgoodbyesweneversaid

Six Goodbyes We Never Said by Candace Ganger ~ 320 pages ~ published 9/24/19 by Wednesday Books

 

Goodreads Synopsis:

Two teens meet after tragedy and learn about love, loss, and letting go

Naima Rodriguez doesn’t want your patronizing sympathy as she grieves her father, her hero—a fallen Marine. She’ll hate you forever if you ask her to open up and remember him “as he was,” though that’s all her loving family wants her to do in order to manage her complex OCD and GAD. She’d rather everyone back the-eff off while she separates her Lucky Charms marshmallows into six, always six, Ziploc bags, while she avoids friends and people and living the life her father so desperately wanted for her.

Dew respectfully requests a little more time to process the sudden loss of his parents. It’s causing an avalanche of secret anxieties, so he counts on his trusty voice recorder to convey the things he can’t otherwise say aloud. He could really use a friend to navigate a life swimming with pain and loss and all the lovely moments in between. And then he meets Naima and everything’s changed—just not in the way he, or she, expects.

Candace Ganger’s Six Goodbyes We Never Said is no love story. If you ask Naima, it’s not even a like story. But it is a story about love and fear and how sometimes you need a little help to be brave enough to say goodbye. Continue reading “Book Review: Six Goodbyes We Never Said (Blog Tour)”

Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: Sky In The Deep

skyinthedeep

Sky in the Deep by Adrienne Young ~ 340 pages ~ published 4/24/18 by Wednesday Books

Goodreads Synopsis:

Raised to be a warrior, seventeen-year-old Eelyn fights alongside her Aska clansmen in an ancient rivalry against the Riki clan. Her life is brutal but simple: fight and survive. Until the day she sees the impossible on the battlefield—her brother, fighting with the enemy—the brother she watched die five years ago. Continue reading “Book Review: Sky In The Deep”

Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: Again, but Better

againbutbetter

Again, but Better by Christine Riccio ~ 384 pages ~ published 5/7/19 by Wednesday Books

Goodreads Summary:

Shane has been doing college all wrong. Pre-med, stellar grades, and happy parents…sounds ideal—but Shane’s made zero friends, goes home every weekend, and romance…what’s that?

Her life has been dorm, dining hall, class, repeat. Time’s a ticking, and she needs a change—there’s nothing like moving to a new country to really mix things up. Shane signs up for a semester abroad in London. She’s going to right all her college mistakes: make friends, pursue boys, and find adventure!

Continue reading “Book Review: Again, but Better”

Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James

themightyheartofsunnystjames

The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James by Ashley Herring Blake ~ 370 pages ~ published 3/26/19 by Little, Brown

Goodreads Synopsis:

Twelve-year-old Sunny St. James navigates heart surgery, reconnections with a lost mother, first kisses, and emerging feelings for another girl in this stunning, heartfelt novel–perfect for fans of Ali Benjamin and Erin Entrada Kelly.

When Sunny St. James receives a new heart, she decides to set off on a “New Life Plan”: 1) do awesome amazing things she could never do before; 2) find a new best friend; and 3) kiss a boy for the first time.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James”