Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: Phoenix Flame

Phoenix Flame by Sara Holland ~ 272 pages ~ to be published on March 2, 2021 by Bloomsbury YA

Goodreads Synopsis:

Maddie thought her problems were over. She saved the Inn at Havenfall—a sanctuary between magical worlds—from the evil Silver Prince. Her uncle the Innkeeper is recovering from a mysterious spell that left him not quite human. And there are still a few weeks of summer left to spend with her more-than-friend Brekken.
But there’s more work to be done to protect the Inn—Maddie must put an end to the black-market trading of magical objects and open the Inn’s doors to the once feared land of shapeshifters.

As she tries to accomplish both seemingly impossible tasks, Maddie uncovers secrets that could change everything. What if saving everyone means destroying the only home she’s known?

Continue reading “Book Review: Phoenix Flame”
Posted in Monthly Wrap-Ups

Monthly Wrap-Up: February 2021

This month I read a total of 16 books! I have been on fire these past two months, and I’m hoping this will continue to be the trend. I’m a little worried that I’m going to burn myself out, but I guess that’s future me’s problem 😂

While I am aiming for 150, I am also aiming to diversify my reading. I am trying to break into genres I don’t typically gravitate toward. I am hoping to read more non-fiction and classics. And, as always, I am taking part in several reading challenges.

Let’s get into it!


Continue reading “Monthly Wrap-Up: February 2021”
Posted in Books

Fantastic Audiobooks for You to Read!

There is a bit of a debate amongst readers about whether audiobooks actually count as reading. In my opinion, they absolutely do! You are listening to the book, yes, but you are still receiving and retaining the story or information just as you would with a physical book. I didn’t start getting into audiobooks until a few years ago, and now they comprise a large portion of my reading each year!

If you are new to audiobooks, or are just looking for new ones to listen to, then this list is a good place to start! These are some of my favorite audiobooks that I have ever read:


Continue reading “Fantastic Audiobooks for You to Read!”
Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: The Paris Library

The Paris Library by Janet Skeslien Charles ~ 368 pages ~ to be published February 9, 2021 by Atria Books (Simon & Schuster)

Goodreads Synopsis:

Based on the true World War II story of the heroic librarians at the American Library in Paris, this is an unforgettable story of romance, friendship, family, and the power of literature to bring us together, perfect for fans of The Lilac Girls and The Paris Wife.

Paris, 1939: Young and ambitious Odile Souchet has it all: her handsome police officer beau and a dream job at the American Library in Paris. When the Nazis march into Paris, Odile stands to lose everything she holds dear, including her beloved library. Together with her fellow librarians, Odile joins the Resistance with the best weapons she has: books. But when the war finally ends, instead of freedom, Odile tastes the bitter sting of unspeakable betrayal.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Paris Library”
Posted in Monthly Wrap-Ups

Monthly Wrap-Up: January 2021

Hello everyone! It’s the beginning of a new year, and so I have new goals! This month, I have read 15 books!! That is crazy, even for me, but it is the pace I actually intend to keep up. I have set myself with a goal of reading 150 books this year. I have met and exceeded my goal of 100 for a few years now, so I thought aiming for 150 would be an actual challenge for me.

While I am aiming for 150, I am also aiming to diversify my reading. I am trying to break into genres I don’t typically gravitate toward. I am hoping to read more non-fiction and classics. And, as always, I am taking part in several reading challenges.

Let’s get into it!

Continue reading “Monthly Wrap-Up: January 2021”
Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: The Four Winds

The Four Winds by Kristin Hannah ~ 464 pages ~ to be published on February 2, 2021 by St. Martin’s Press

Goodreads Synopsis:

Texas, 1934. Millions are out of work and a drought has broken the Great Plains. Farmers are fighting to keep their land and their livelihoods as the crops are failing, the water is drying up, and dust threatens to bury them all. One of the darkest periods of the Great Depression, the Dust Bowl era, has arrived with a vengeance.

In this uncertain and dangerous time, Elsa Martinelli—like so many of her neighbors—must make an agonizing choice: fight for the land she loves or go west, to California, in search of a better life. The Four Winds is an indelible portrait of America and the American Dream, as seen through the eyes of one indomitable woman whose courage and sacrifice will come to define a generation.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Four Winds”