Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: The Paris Library

The Paris Library by Janet Skeslien Charles ~ 368 pages ~ to be published February 9, 2021 by Atria Books (Simon & Schuster)

Goodreads Synopsis:

Based on the true World War II story of the heroic librarians at the American Library in Paris, this is an unforgettable story of romance, friendship, family, and the power of literature to bring us together, perfect for fans of The Lilac Girls and The Paris Wife.

Paris, 1939: Young and ambitious Odile Souchet has it all: her handsome police officer beau and a dream job at the American Library in Paris. When the Nazis march into Paris, Odile stands to lose everything she holds dear, including her beloved library. Together with her fellow librarians, Odile joins the Resistance with the best weapons she has: books. But when the war finally ends, instead of freedom, Odile tastes the bitter sting of unspeakable betrayal.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Paris Library”
Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: The Four Winds

The Four Winds by Kristin Hannah ~ 464 pages ~ to be published on February 2, 2021 by St. Martin’s Press

Goodreads Synopsis:

Texas, 1934. Millions are out of work and a drought has broken the Great Plains. Farmers are fighting to keep their land and their livelihoods as the crops are failing, the water is drying up, and dust threatens to bury them all. One of the darkest periods of the Great Depression, the Dust Bowl era, has arrived with a vengeance.

In this uncertain and dangerous time, Elsa Martinelli—like so many of her neighbors—must make an agonizing choice: fight for the land she loves or go west, to California, in search of a better life. The Four Winds is an indelible portrait of America and the American Dream, as seen through the eyes of one indomitable woman whose courage and sacrifice will come to define a generation.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Four Winds”
Posted in Book Reviews

Mini-Reviews // First Half of January 2021

I always enjoy seeing a round-up of people’s mini reviews, as well as their bookish photos of each book. So, I present you with my mini-reviews from my Instagram for the first half of the month!

I have had such a great reading month so far! It is kind of crazy to me that I have already read 8 books this month! Also, I have had three 5 star reviews, which is also very out of the ordinary for me. Let’s hope the second half of the month is just as good!

Continue reading “Mini-Reviews // First Half of January 2021”
Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: You Have a Match

You Have a Match by Emma Lord ~ 320 pages ~ to be published January 12, 2021 by Wednesday Books

Goodreads Synopsis:

When Abby signs up for a DNA service, it’s mainly to give her friend and secret love interest, Leo, a nudge. After all, she knows who she is already: Avid photographer. Injury-prone tree climber. Best friend to Leo and Connie…although ever since the B.E.I. (Big Embarrassing Incident) with Leo, things have been awkward on that front.

But she didn’t know she’s a younger sister.

Continue reading “Book Review: You Have a Match”
Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: The Poppy and the Rose

The Poppy and the Rose by Ashlee Cowles ~ 322 pages ~ published on 10/6/2020 by Owl Hollow

Goodreads Synopsis:

1912: Ava Knight, a teen heiress, boards the Titanic to escape the shadow of her unstable mother and to fulfill her dream of becoming a photographer in New York. During the journey she meets three people who will change her life: a handsome sailor, a soldier in the secret Black Hand society that will trigger World War I, and a woman with clairvoyant abilities. When disaster strikes the ship, family betrayals come to light.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Poppy and the Rose”
Posted in Book Reviews

Mini-Reviews // November 2020

This year I started writing mini-reviews over on my Instagram whenever I finish a book. It has been a really great way of remembering more about my thoughts on a book and why I gave it the star rating I did. So, I thought it would be good practice to corral those mini-reviews into one place twice a month (whenever I think about it haha) so that all of you can take a peek at what I’ve been reading and see my thoughts on each book.

Continue reading “Mini-Reviews // November 2020”