Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: Again, but Better

againbutbetter

Again, but Better by Christine Riccio ~ 384 pages ~ published 5/7/19 by Wednesday Books

Goodreads Summary:

Shane has been doing college all wrong. Pre-med, stellar grades, and happy parents…sounds ideal—but Shane’s made zero friends, goes home every weekend, and romance…what’s that?

Her life has been dorm, dining hall, class, repeat. Time’s a ticking, and she needs a change—there’s nothing like moving to a new country to really mix things up. Shane signs up for a semester abroad in London. She’s going to right all her college mistakes: make friends, pursue boys, and find adventure!

Continue reading “Book Review: Again, but Better”

Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James

themightyheartofsunnystjames

The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James by Ashley Herring Blake ~ 370 pages ~ published 3/26/19 by Little, Brown

Goodreads Synopsis:

Twelve-year-old Sunny St. James navigates heart surgery, reconnections with a lost mother, first kisses, and emerging feelings for another girl in this stunning, heartfelt novel–perfect for fans of Ali Benjamin and Erin Entrada Kelly.

When Sunny St. James receives a new heart, she decides to set off on a “New Life Plan”: 1) do awesome amazing things she could never do before; 2) find a new best friend; and 3) kiss a boy for the first time.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James”

Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: You’d Be Mine

youdbemine

You’d Be Mine by Erin Hahn ~ 304 pages ~ to be published 4/2/19 by Wednesday Books

Goodreads Synopsis:

Annie Mathers is America’s sweetheart and heir to a country music legacy full of all the things her Gran warned her about. Superstar Clay Coolidge is most definitely going to end up one of those things.

But unfortunately for Clay, if he can’t convince Annie to join his summer tour, his music label is going to drop him. That’s what happens when your bad boy image turns into bad boy reality. Annie has been avoiding the spotlight after her parents’ tragic death, except on her skyrocketing YouTube channel. Clay’s label wants to land Annie, and Clay has to make it happen.
Continue reading “Book Review: You’d Be Mine”

Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: Thomas Wildus and the Book of Sorrows

thomaswildusandthebookofsorrows

Thomas Wildus and the Book of Sorrows by J.M. Bergen ~ 352 pages ~ published 2/2/19 by Elandrian Press

Goodreads Synopsis:

Thomas thinks he’s an ordinary twelve year old, but when a strange little man with gold-flecked eyes gives him an ancient text called The Book of Sorrows, the world he knows is turned upside down. Suddenly he’s faced with a secret family legacy, powers he can hardly begin to understand, and an enemy bent on destroying everything he holds dear. The more he reads and discovers, the deeper the danger to himself and the people he loves. As the race to the final showdown unfolds, Thomas must turn to trusted friends and uncertain allies as he seeks to prevent destruction at an epic scale.

Continue reading “Book Review: Thomas Wildus and the Book of Sorrows”

Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: With This Pledge

withthispledge

With This Pledge (Carnton #1) by Tamera Alexander ~ 448 pages ~ published 1/8/19 by Thomas Nelson

Goodreads Synopsis:

On the night of November 30, 1864, a brutal battle in Franklin, Tennessee, all but decimates the Confederacy and nearly kills Captain Roland Ward Jones. A decorated Mississippi sharpshooter, Jones has a vision on the battlefield and, despite the severity of his wounds, believes his life will be spared. But a life without his leg, he can’t abide. He compels Elizabeth “Lizzie” Clouston—governess to the McGavock family at the Carnton mansion—to intervene should the surgeon decide to amputate. True to her word, Lizzie speaks on his behalf and saves not only the captain’s leg but also his life.

Continue reading “Book Review: With This Pledge”

Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: The Everlasting Rose (The Belles #2)

theeverlastingrose

The Everlasting Rose (The Belles #2) by Dhonielle Clayton ~ 352 pages ~ to be published 3/5/19 by Freeform

Goodreads Synopsis:

In this sequel to the instant New York Times bestseller, Camille, her sister Edel, and her guard and new love Remy must race against time to find Princess Charlotte. Sophia’s Imperial forces will stop at nothing to keep the rebels from returning Charlotte to the castle and her rightful place as queen. With the help of an underground resistance movement called The Iron Ladies-a society that rejects beauty treatments entirely-and the backing of alternative newspaper The Spider’s Web, Camille uses her powers, her connections and her cunning to outwit her greatest nemesis, Sophia, and restore peace to Orleans. Continue reading “Book Review: The Everlasting Rose (The Belles #2)”