Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: The Disability Experience

The Disability Experience: Working Toward Belonging by Hannalora Leavitt ~ 192 pages ~ to be published April 13, 2021 by Orca Book Publishers

Goodreads Synopsis:

People with disabilities (PWDs) have the same aspirations for their lives as you do for yours. The difference is that PWDs don’t have the same access to education, employment, housing, transportation and healthcare in order to achieve their goals. In The Disability Experience you’ll meet people with different kinds of disabilities, and you’ll begin to understand the ways PWDs have been ignored, reviled and marginalized throughout history. The book also celebrates the triumphs and achievements of PWDs and shares the powerful stories of those who have fought for change.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Disability Experience”
Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: Perfect on Paper

Perfect on Paper by Sophie Gonzales ~ 304 pages ~ to be published March 9, 2021 by Wednesday Books

Goodreads Synopsis:

Her advice, spot on. Her love life, way off.

Darcy Phillips:
• Can give you the solution to any of your relationship woes―for a fee.
• Uses her power for good. Most of the time.
• Really cannot stand Alexander Brougham.
• Has maybe not the best judgement when it comes to her best friend, Brooke…who is in love with someone else.
• Does not appreciate being blackmailed.

However, when Brougham catches her in the act of collecting letters from locker 89―out of which she’s been running her questionably legal, anonymous relationship advice service―that’s exactly what happens. In exchange for keeping her secret, Darcy begrudgingly agrees to become his personal dating coach―at a generous hourly rate, at least. The goal? To help him win his ex-girlfriend back.

Continue reading “Book Review: Perfect on Paper”
Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: Phoenix Flame

Phoenix Flame by Sara Holland ~ 272 pages ~ to be published on March 2, 2021 by Bloomsbury YA

Goodreads Synopsis:

Maddie thought her problems were over. She saved the Inn at Havenfall—a sanctuary between magical worlds—from the evil Silver Prince. Her uncle the Innkeeper is recovering from a mysterious spell that left him not quite human. And there are still a few weeks of summer left to spend with her more-than-friend Brekken.
But there’s more work to be done to protect the Inn—Maddie must put an end to the black-market trading of magical objects and open the Inn’s doors to the once feared land of shapeshifters.

As she tries to accomplish both seemingly impossible tasks, Maddie uncovers secrets that could change everything. What if saving everyone means destroying the only home she’s known?

Continue reading “Book Review: Phoenix Flame”
Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: The Paris Library

The Paris Library by Janet Skeslien Charles ~ 368 pages ~ to be published February 9, 2021 by Atria Books (Simon & Schuster)

Goodreads Synopsis:

Based on the true World War II story of the heroic librarians at the American Library in Paris, this is an unforgettable story of romance, friendship, family, and the power of literature to bring us together, perfect for fans of The Lilac Girls and The Paris Wife.

Paris, 1939: Young and ambitious Odile Souchet has it all: her handsome police officer beau and a dream job at the American Library in Paris. When the Nazis march into Paris, Odile stands to lose everything she holds dear, including her beloved library. Together with her fellow librarians, Odile joins the Resistance with the best weapons she has: books. But when the war finally ends, instead of freedom, Odile tastes the bitter sting of unspeakable betrayal.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Paris Library”
Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: The Four Winds

The Four Winds by Kristin Hannah ~ 464 pages ~ to be published on February 2, 2021 by St. Martin’s Press

Goodreads Synopsis:

Texas, 1934. Millions are out of work and a drought has broken the Great Plains. Farmers are fighting to keep their land and their livelihoods as the crops are failing, the water is drying up, and dust threatens to bury them all. One of the darkest periods of the Great Depression, the Dust Bowl era, has arrived with a vengeance.

In this uncertain and dangerous time, Elsa Martinelli—like so many of her neighbors—must make an agonizing choice: fight for the land she loves or go west, to California, in search of a better life. The Four Winds is an indelible portrait of America and the American Dream, as seen through the eyes of one indomitable woman whose courage and sacrifice will come to define a generation.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Four Winds”
Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: You Have a Match

You Have a Match by Emma Lord ~ 320 pages ~ to be published January 12, 2021 by Wednesday Books

Goodreads Synopsis:

When Abby signs up for a DNA service, it’s mainly to give her friend and secret love interest, Leo, a nudge. After all, she knows who she is already: Avid photographer. Injury-prone tree climber. Best friend to Leo and Connie…although ever since the B.E.I. (Big Embarrassing Incident) with Leo, things have been awkward on that front.

But she didn’t know she’s a younger sister.

Continue reading “Book Review: You Have a Match”