Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James

themightyheartofsunnystjames

The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James by Ashley Herring Blake ~ 370 pages ~ published 3/26/19 by Little, Brown

Goodreads Synopsis:

Twelve-year-old Sunny St. James navigates heart surgery, reconnections with a lost mother, first kisses, and emerging feelings for another girl in this stunning, heartfelt novel–perfect for fans of Ali Benjamin and Erin Entrada Kelly.

When Sunny St. James receives a new heart, she decides to set off on a “New Life Plan”: 1) do awesome amazing things she could never do before; 2) find a new best friend; and 3) kiss a boy for the first time.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James”

Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: Thomas Wildus and the Book of Sorrows

thomaswildusandthebookofsorrows

Thomas Wildus and the Book of Sorrows by J.M. Bergen ~ 352 pages ~ published 2/2/19 by Elandrian Press

Goodreads Synopsis:

Thomas thinks he’s an ordinary twelve year old, but when a strange little man with gold-flecked eyes gives him an ancient text called The Book of Sorrows, the world he knows is turned upside down. Suddenly he’s faced with a secret family legacy, powers he can hardly begin to understand, and an enemy bent on destroying everything he holds dear. The more he reads and discovers, the deeper the danger to himself and the people he loves. As the race to the final showdown unfolds, Thomas must turn to trusted friends and uncertain allies as he seeks to prevent destruction at an epic scale.

Continue reading “Book Review: Thomas Wildus and the Book of Sorrows”