Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: The Woman with the Blue Star (Blog Tour)

The Woman with the Blue Star by Pam Jenoff ~ 336 pages ~ to be published 5/4/2021 by Park Row

Goodreads Synopsis:

1942. Sadie Gault is eighteen and living with her parents amid the horrors of the Kraków Ghetto during World War II. When the Nazis liquidate the ghetto, Sadie and her pregnant mother are forced to seek refuge in the perilous sewers beneath the city. One day Sadie looks up through a grate and sees a girl about her own age buying flowers.

Ella Stepanek is an affluent Polish girl living a life of relative ease with her stepmother, who has developed close alliances with the occupying Germans. Scorned by her friends and longing for her fiancé, who has gone off to war, Ella wanders Kraków restlessly. While on an errand in the market, she catches a glimpse of something moving beneath a grate in the street. Upon closer inspection, she realizes it’s a girl hiding.

Ella begins to aid Sadie and the two become close, but as the dangers of the war worsen, their lives are set on a collision course that will test them in the face of overwhelming odds. Inspired by harrowing true stories, The Woman with the Blue Star is an emotional testament to the power of friendship and the extraordinary strength of the human will to survive.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Woman with the Blue Star (Blog Tour)”
Posted in Monthly Wrap-Ups

Monthly Wrap-Up: April 2021

This month I read a total of 12 books! I was a bit distracted by video games this month, so my number isn’t as high as my previous months. It is still a lot though, so I am satisfied 🙂

While I am aiming for 150 books this year, I am also aiming to diversify my reading. I am trying to break into genres I don’t typically gravitate toward. I am hoping to read more non-fiction and classics. And, as always, I am taking part in several reading challenges.

Let’s get into it!


Continue reading “Monthly Wrap-Up: April 2021”
Posted in Books

My Favorite Stand-Alone Novels

We all know that it is exciting to find a great series that you can get into, in large part because you can then dive into that world over the course of multiple books. But, what about fantastic stand-alones? I personally love a great stand-alone since I can get a complete story in one go. Sometimes you don’t want to invest all of your reading time into a long series. This is where stand-alones are the perfect thing to pick up!

Here are some of my favorite stand-alone novels!

Continue reading “My Favorite Stand-Alone Novels”
Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: The Paris Library

The Paris Library by Janet Skeslien Charles ~ 368 pages ~ to be published February 9, 2021 by Atria Books (Simon & Schuster)

Goodreads Synopsis:

Based on the true World War II story of the heroic librarians at the American Library in Paris, this is an unforgettable story of romance, friendship, family, and the power of literature to bring us together, perfect for fans of The Lilac Girls and The Paris Wife.

Paris, 1939: Young and ambitious Odile Souchet has it all: her handsome police officer beau and a dream job at the American Library in Paris. When the Nazis march into Paris, Odile stands to lose everything she holds dear, including her beloved library. Together with her fellow librarians, Odile joins the Resistance with the best weapons she has: books. But when the war finally ends, instead of freedom, Odile tastes the bitter sting of unspeakable betrayal.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Paris Library”
Posted in Monthly Wrap-Ups

Monthly Wrap-Up: March 2020

Hello everyone! This month was a little bit slower for me, and I ended up with a total of 8 books.

I’m going to try to do things slightly differently this year. I am going to keep y’all updated on how my various book challenges are going in each of my monthly wrap-ups.

Let’s get into it! Continue reading “Monthly Wrap-Up: March 2020”

Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: Code Name Helene

codenamehelene

Code Name Helene by Ariel Lawhon ~ 464 pages ~ to be published 3/31/20 by Doubleday Books

Goodreads Synopsis:

BASED ON THE THRILLING REAL-LIFE STORY OF SOCIALITE SPY NANCY WAKE, comes the newest feat of historical fiction from the New York Times bestselling author of I Was Anastasia, featuring the astonishing woman who killed a Nazi with her bare hands and went on to become one of the most decorated women in WWII.

Told in interweaving timelines organized around the four code names Nancy used during the war, Code Name Hélène is a spellbinding and moving story of enduring love, remarkable sacrifice and unfaltering resolve that chronicles the true exploits of a woman who deserves to be a household name.
Continue reading “Book Review: Code Name Helene”