Posted in Book Memes

Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Meant to Read in 2020 But Didn’t Get To

I decided that this year I would like to try my hand at participating in Top Ten Tuesday, a meme that was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together.

This week the topic is the books you meant to read in 2020, but you didn’t get to, for whatever reason. I have a ton of books that I fully intended to get to last year, but for one reason or another never did. Here are the ten that are sitting on my library cart right now (as I fully intend to try to get to them first this year!):


Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Meant to Read in 2020 But Didn’t Get To”
Posted in Monthly Wrap-Ups

Monthly Wrap-Up: September and October 2020

Hello everyone! My life was kind of crazy the past two months, and I apologize for being gone for so long. Things have finally settled down for me a bit, so hopefully I will be updating the blog on a more regular basis now. I am going to do a combination wrap-up post for both September and October, especially since I only read three books in October.

I read a total of 8 books in September and 3 books in October. I will talk more about why my count was so low in October in my Getting Personal section below.

I’m going to try to do things slightly differently this year. I am going to keep y’all updated on how my various book challenges are going in each of my monthly wrap-ups.

Let’s get into it!

Continue reading “Monthly Wrap-Up: September and October 2020”
Posted in Monthly Wrap-Ups

Monthly Wrap-Up: July 2020

Wow, it has been a hot minute since I was last here! I’m sorry for disappearing for so long. Grad school has been way more consuming than I thought. It hasn’t affected my reading, surprisingly, but the thought of sitting down to craft blog posts was just a little too much for my already stressed and anxious self. I am winding down on the end of my second course, and I am finally feeling like I can come up for air a little bit. I’ll talk more about what’s been going on in our world later in the post, but I just wanted to say up top: I’ve missed all of you! I’ve been so busy! I hope not to go this long without blogging again! Continue reading “Monthly Wrap-Up: July 2020”

Posted in Books

Books I Love That Have Under 2000 Ratings on Goodreads

color books on grey wooden backgroundThere are so many great books out there that don’t get noticed nearly enough. These are all books that I gave 5 stars to, but that have less than 2000 ratings on Goodreads. I thought it would be fun to talk about some of these books, and hopefully get them some more love, which they all deserve! Continue reading “Books I Love That Have Under 2000 Ratings on Goodreads”

Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: Havenfall

havenfall

Havenfall by Sara Holland ~ 320 pages ~ to be published 3/3/20 by Bloomsbury YA

 

Goodreads Synopsis:

A safe haven between four realms. The girl sworn to protect it–at any cost.

Hidden deep in the mountains of Colorado lies the Inn at Havenfall, a sanctuary that connects ancient worlds–each with their own magic–together. For generations, the inn has protected all who seek refuge within its walls, and any who disrupt the peace can never return.

For Maddie Morrow, summers at the inn are more than a chance to experience this magic first-hand. Havenfall is an escape from reality, where her mother sits on death row accused of murdering Maddie’s brother. It’s where Maddie fell in love with handsome Fiorden soldier Brekken. And it’s where one day she hopes to inherit the role of Innkeeper from her beloved uncle.

Continue reading “Book Review: Havenfall”

Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James

themightyheartofsunnystjames

The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James by Ashley Herring Blake ~ 370 pages ~ published 3/26/19 by Little, Brown

Goodreads Synopsis:

Twelve-year-old Sunny St. James navigates heart surgery, reconnections with a lost mother, first kisses, and emerging feelings for another girl in this stunning, heartfelt novel–perfect for fans of Ali Benjamin and Erin Entrada Kelly.

When Sunny St. James receives a new heart, she decides to set off on a “New Life Plan”: 1) do awesome amazing things she could never do before; 2) find a new best friend; and 3) kiss a boy for the first time.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James”