Posted in Books

Books I Love That Have Under 2000 Ratings on Goodreads

color books on grey wooden backgroundThere are so many great books out there that don’t get noticed nearly enough. These are all books that I gave 5 stars to, but that have less than 2000 ratings on Goodreads. I thought it would be fun to talk about some of these books, and hopefully get them some more love, which they all deserve! Continue reading “Books I Love That Have Under 2000 Ratings on Goodreads”

Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: Havenfall

havenfall

Havenfall by Sara Holland ~ 320 pages ~ to be published 3/3/20 by Bloomsbury YA

 

Goodreads Synopsis:

A safe haven between four realms. The girl sworn to protect it–at any cost.

Hidden deep in the mountains of Colorado lies the Inn at Havenfall, a sanctuary that connects ancient worlds–each with their own magic–together. For generations, the inn has protected all who seek refuge within its walls, and any who disrupt the peace can never return.

For Maddie Morrow, summers at the inn are more than a chance to experience this magic first-hand. Havenfall is an escape from reality, where her mother sits on death row accused of murdering Maddie’s brother. It’s where Maddie fell in love with handsome Fiorden soldier Brekken. And it’s where one day she hopes to inherit the role of Innkeeper from her beloved uncle.

Continue reading “Book Review: Havenfall”

Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James

themightyheartofsunnystjames

The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James by Ashley Herring Blake ~ 370 pages ~ published 3/26/19 by Little, Brown

Goodreads Synopsis:

Twelve-year-old Sunny St. James navigates heart surgery, reconnections with a lost mother, first kisses, and emerging feelings for another girl in this stunning, heartfelt novel–perfect for fans of Ali Benjamin and Erin Entrada Kelly.

When Sunny St. James receives a new heart, she decides to set off on a “New Life Plan”: 1) do awesome amazing things she could never do before; 2) find a new best friend; and 3) kiss a boy for the first time.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James”

Posted in Books

Most Anticipated Books of 2019

As we near the end of 2018, I find myself looking forward to all of the great reading possibilities on the horizon. There are so many amazing books that are coming out next year, that I thought I would list them all here so that you could look forward to them with me! Here is a list of the books I am most looking forward to in 2019!

(*Forewarning: This is a long post! Sorry not sorry! 😉 *)

books on wooden deck tabletop

Continue reading “Most Anticipated Books of 2019”

Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: Foolish Hearts

Foolish Hearts by Emma Mills ~ 320 pages ~ published 12/5/17 by Henry Holt 

Goodreads Synopsis:

A contemporary novel about a girl whose high school production of A Midsummer Night’s Dream leads her to new friends—and maybe even new love.

The day of the last party of the summer, Claudia overhears a conversation she wasn’t supposed to. Now on the wrong side of one of the meanest girls in school, Claudia doesn’t know what to expect when the two are paired up to write a paper—let alone when they’re both forced to try out for the school production of A Midsummer Night’s Dream.
Continue reading “Book Review: Foolish Hearts”

Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: The Unbinding of Mary Reade

unbindingofmaryreade

The Unbinding of Mary Reade by Miriam McNamara ~ 336 pages ~ published 6/19/18 by Sky Pony Press

Goodreads Synopsis:

A clever, romantic novel based on the true story of a girl who disguised herself as a boy to sail with the infamous pirates Anne Bonny and Calico Jack—and fell in love with Anne Bonny.

There’s no place for a girl in Mary’s world. Not in the home of her mum, desperately drunk and poor. Not in the household of her wealthy granny, where no girl can be named an heir. And certainly not in the arms of Nat, her childhood love who never knew her for who she was. As a sailor aboard a Caribbean merchant ship, Mary’s livelihood—and her safety—depends on her ability to disguise her gender.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Unbinding of Mary Reade”